About the show

About the show

For the tenth year running The X Factor returns to primetime ITV1 and ITV2 to entertain the nation.

Wannabe pop stars across the country are preparing to brave the panel of judges and the British public and stake their claim to the winner’s title. And series 10, with support from sponsor Talk Talk, is set to be breathtakingly brilliant!

Excitingly, this time round there’s a new line up of judges. Familiar face Louis Walsh is joined by the multi-million selling artists, songwriters and pop masterminds that are Gary Barlow, Nicole Scherzinger and Sharon Osbourne. The quartet will be handing out their judgement on contestants within the following categories: male soloists aged 16-24, female soloists 16-24 years, over 25s and groups.

The X Factor stalwart, Dermot O’Leary will be hosting for his seventh series and we have a new Xtra Factor host. Stand up comedian Matt Richardson will be joining Caroline Flack, former presenter of ‘I’m a Celebrity! Get me out of Here! Now’ to bring all the backstage gossip and unseen moments on The Xtra Factor.

In the first of an exciting range of new changes for the 10th series, hopefuls will - for the first time ever - have to tackle two sets of auditions. First, they will face the judges eyeball to eyeball in an intimate audition room. If they receive three or more yeses here they will then have to perform for the judges once more, this time in an arena, to prove they can also impress an audience before securing a coveted place at the next stage in the competition.

Those who survive the new audition phase then graduate to bootcamp, where they are put through their paces and mercilessly whittled down. From there, each judge is assigned a category to mentor, and it's off to the judges' houses, the last stage before the live shows. At the end of judges houses, only the chosen ones, the finalists, will return.

The live show stage of the competition begins in October with the contestants competing to be the winner of The X Factor 2013. Plus this year, the Final will be live in front of 10,000 fans at Wembley Arena!

Who will you be voting for?